Blog Gigs Facts Music Shop Links
home >  gigs :  upcoming /  past

Gigs From History: 2008

Here's all the gigs we played in 2008, along with any details of the night I can remember. If there's a blog entry you can click on the date to read it.

Tuesday 22 January 2008
The Lamb, London  (setlist)
Totally Acoustic with Sunny Intervals - featuring the Surprise Ukelele Flash Mob!



Saturday 26 January 2008
click for larger versionThe Fishtank, Durham  (setlist)
GRATE trip North for The Cleator Moor Validators to a posh apartment and ACE gig with Rich & Ollie and Mr Pete Green.



Saturday 9 February 2008
The Albany, London  (setlist)
Fab, totally acoustical, night, where the chap from The Free Fringe came to see me.



Friday 22 February 2008
Firebug, Leicester  (setlist)
Supporting Neck at Steve McHaggis's Birthday do



Sunday 2 March 2008
Monkey Chews, London  (setlist)
Jim'll's Brain, MASSIVELY varying standards of comedians, zombie/topless lady films, and a naked poet.



Saturday 8 March 2008
The Brunswick Inn, Derby  (setlist)
Quick impromptu [DRUNK] couple of songs after watching Frankie Machine.



Tuesday 18 March 2008
The Lamb, London  (setlist)
Totally Acoustic with The Bobby McGees



Sunday 23 March 2008
click for larger versionThe Battersea Barge, London  (setlist)
Validators Full Band Set The PopArt alldayer - BritPopArt 2!



Sunday 23 March 2008
The Battersea Barge, London  (setlist)
Shameful attempt at 'Country House'



Saturday 5 April 2008
click for larger versionCardigan Arms, Leeds  (setlist)
Validators Full Band Set First day of Pennfest, with The Scaramanga Six, Penny Broadhurst, Brontosaurus Chorus, The Fighting Cocks and The Seven Inches. We couldn't get any "India"!!!



Sunday 6 April 2008
click for larger versionLeonard's, London  (setlist)
Validators Full Band Set Pennfest day TWO, this time with Penny Broadhurst, Friends Of The Bride, Brontosaurus Chorus, George Death, Paul Mosley and Sajeela Kershi. Nobody seemed to notice we were playing!



Friday 11 April 2008
The Perserverance, London  (setlist)
A, frankly, STORMING night at Freedom Of Expression.



Tuesday 22 April 2008
The Lamb, London  (setlist)
Totally Acoustic with Frankie Machine on UKELELE!



Thursday 1 May 2008
click for larger versionLee Rosy's Tea Room, Nottingham  (setlist)
Validators Full Band Set Playing with Frankie Machine and Phil Wilson, of The June Brides.



Saturday 3 May 2008
click for larger versionMonkey Chews, London  (setlist)
With Zipper, Horowitz and The Bumblebees.



Sunday 4 May 2008
Fox & Firkin, London  (setlist)
A lovely start to summer, at Foxfest 2008.



Monday 5 May 2008
University of Sheffield Students' Union, Sheffield  (setlist)
Lots of singing along - especially during Do The Indie Kid - at the Fuzz Club BBQ.



Wednesday 7 May 2008
The Bandstand, Stoke  (setlist)
A Sunny Inside night with A Smile And a Ribbon, Horowitz and DJ Rocker.



Thursday 8 May 2008
Jamm, London  (setlist)
Offline night with Gin Riots and The Boycott Coca-Cola Experience



Thursday 22 May 2008
Firebug, Leicester  (setlist)
Validators Full Band Set The Leicester leg of the single tour, with The Mai 68s and Phil Wilson



Thursday 29 May 2008
Shortfuse @ The Camden Head, London  (setlist)
Short talky set at Shortfuse. With poets.



Friday 30 May 2008
The Prince Albert, London  (setlist)
Solo spot at the Offline club in a very busy pub, with Helen McCookeryClub and The Boycott Coca Cola Experience



Tuesday 10 June 2008
The Lamb, London  (setlist)
Totally Acoustic with the MIGHTY Jim'll's Brain



Wednesday 18 June 2008
Buffalo Bar, London  (setlist)
Goonite Club, with The Indelicates, Lily Rae and The Keith TOTP All-Star Band, the latter being made up almost entirely of people I knew from all sorts of different places.



Tuesday 1 July 2008
The Lamb, London  (setlist)
Totally Acoustic 'Dress Rehearsal' of My Exciting Life In ROCK



Monday 7 July 2008
click for larger versionThe Red House, Sheffield  (setlist)
Amazing line-up (The School, Slow Down Tallahassee and Mr Pete Green), lovely friends in the audience, rather scary episode of getting LOST on the way home!



Monday 14 July 2008
click for larger versionThe Star Of Kings, London  (setlist)
My Exciting Life In ROCK Press Preview (press preview!!) with support from Mr Pete Green.



Friday 18 July 2008
The Perserverance, London  (setlist)
Back at Freedom of Expression with Superman Revenge Squad.



Friday 25 July 2008
click for larger versionThe Midland Railway - Butterley, Derby  (setlist)
Validators Full Band Set The World Premier of My Exciting Life In ROCK!



Saturday 26 July 2008
My Mum's Back Garden, Peterborough  (setlist)
Rather unusual set for my parents' friends!



Thursday 31 July 2008
Boston Music Rooms, London  (setlist)
The launch night for Apples For Everyone's new album, although I had to dash off too soon to see anything.



Monday 4 August 2008
XFM Scotland, Glasgow  (setlist)
Session for Jim Gellatly's show, doing 'The Lesson Of The Smiths' and 'It Only Works Because You're Here', broadcast the next day.



Monday 4 August 2008
click for larger versionMedina, Edinburgh  (setlist)
My Exciting Life In ROCK First night of the show - 30 people in but I was a bit nervous.



Tuesday 5 August 2008
Medina, Edinburgh  (setlist)
My Exciting Life In ROCK Only four people in so I did the show Totally Acoustically and had a GRATE time.



Tuesday 5 August 2008
Lower Stage, Edinburgh  (setlist)
An extremely enjoyable bit of busking, featuring dancing babies.



Wednesday 6 August 2008
Medina, Edinburgh  (setlist)
My Exciting Life In ROCK There were 25 people this time, and it was a WHOLE lot of fun, with a live satellite link-up to Steve Lamacq on 6Music!



Thursday 7 August 2008
Medina, Edinburgh  (setlist)
My Exciting Life In ROCK This show featuring S Hewitt demonstrating how to do The Indie Kid.



Thursday 7 August 2008
Lower Stage, Edinburgh  (setlist)
A very rainy busking spot, where I furthered my knowledge of this ancient art by doing Back For Good twice.



Friday 8 August 2008
Medina, Edinburgh  (setlist)
My Exciting Life In ROCK A barefoot show for a small audience, including three disgruntled teenagers who became even MORE so when The Management CONFISCATED their hip flask, resulting in the only bad review of the show!!



Saturday 9 August 2008
Medina, Edinburgh  (setlist)
My Exciting Life In ROCK Final night, and best of the lot, with a big happy audience and MUCH good times.



Saturday 9 August 2008
Upper Stage, Edinburgh  (setlist)
More slightly pointless busking, featuring a troupe of characters from Japanese drama walking by, clapping along.



Friday 15 August 2008
Lumb Farm, Derby  (setlist)
The Blyth Power Summer Fayre, miles away from anywhere in a hotel full of old punks.



Friday 29 August 2008
Actress & Bishop, Birmingham  (setlist)
With The Graham Parsnip Liquidiser Torture Think-Tank (revival).



Saturday 30 August 2008
Ray's Mum's Back Garden, Stourbridge  (setlist)
With Mr Pete Green at HIBBETTFEST!



Tuesday 9 September 2008
The Green Dragon, London  (setlist)
A first time trip to Croydon, for Freedom Of Expression.



Tuesday 16 September 2008
The Lamb, London  (setlist)
Totally Acoustic with Mr Owen Tromans



Thursday 18 September 2008
click for larger versionBuffalo Bar, London  (setlist)
Validators Full Band Set First full Validators gig in London for AGES, with Life In Film and Fuck Dress.



Saturday 4 October 2008
Wellbeck Banqueting Suite, Nottingham  (setlist)
Lisa & Sam's Wedding Reception.



Sunday 5 October 2008
The Star, London  (setlist)
Very quick set at the Anything Goes Sunday Club, after which I almost lost my guitar!



Sunday 12 October 2008
Catch 22, London  (setlist)
Quick spot at John Peel day, after which I met John Peel's daughter!



Sunday 12 October 2008
The Salmon & Compass, London  (setlist)
DJ Set at The Hangover Lounge, where I learnt that you do actually need to bring more than a couple of CDs with you if you wish to properly 'drop the bomb'.



Tuesday 14 October 2008
The Green Dragon, London  (setlist)
Freedom Of Expression gig, with Eddie's Brother and General Paulus.



Sunday 19 October 2008
Bloomsbury Bowling Lanes, London  (setlist)
Guest spot with the All Star Band at Bowl & Sebastian.



Sunday 19 October 2008
Bloomsbury Bowling Lanes, London  (setlist)
Afternoon set (on about 4pm) at Bowl & Sebastian



Tuesday 21 October 2008
The Lamb, London  (setlist)
Totally Acoustic with Tom From Lardpony.



Saturday 25 October 2008
University of Sheffield Students' Union, Sheffield  (setlist)
Rather tipsy evening set, with some sage advice for The Kids.



Saturday 25 October 2008
University of Sheffield Students' Union, Sheffield  (setlist)
'My Exciting Life In ROCK', done rather unnervingly with Steve Lamacq in the audience.



Sunday 26 October 2008
BBC Radio Cleveland, Middlesborough  (setlist)
Quick session for Bob Fischer's show



Sunday 26 October 2008
The Waiting Room, Middlesborough  (setlist)
My Exciting Life In ROCK with The Bob Fischer Experience.



Thursday 30 October 2008
Christ Church, London  (setlist)
Using Mr T Eveleigh as a Swearing Vocalists as i REFUSE to swear in a church.



Thursday 13 November 2008
The Charlotte, Leicester  (setlist)
Validators Full Band Set A young lad's dream comes true as Tim plays with Half Man Half Biscuit.



Sunday 16 November 2008
click for larger versionLee Rosy's Tea Room, Nottingham  (setlist)
Validators Full Band Set Lovely all-dayer with Pocketbooks, Mr Phil Wilson. Pete Green, The Bobby McGees and BEER!



Friday 21 November 2008
The Perserverance, London  (setlist)
Freedom Of Expression with Jeremy Ayre, Superman Revenge Squad and New Rising.



Thursday 27 November 2008
The Shakespeare, Sheffield  (setlist)
Markie Parallelogram's leaving do, with Horowitz, The Lovely Eggs, The Parallelograms and TEARS.



Thursday 27 November 2008
The Shakespeare, Sheffield  (setlist)
Quick set in the courtyard!



Thursday 4 December 2008
Native Tongue, Surrey  (setlist)
'Jenny's Time Of The Month', just round the corner from Underage Drinking Central!



Saturday 6 December 2008
The Wilmington Arms, London  (setlist)
A twinkly, Christmassy time with Calvin Party, Lazarus Clamp and Former Utopia.



Tuesday 9 December 2008
The Lamb, London  (setlist)
Totally Acoustic A very Christmassy Totally Acoustic, with GRATE sets from Jenny Lockyer and Ten Foot John, mince pies, and general Festive Good Times!



Thursday 11 December 2008
Green Dragon Yard, Middlesborough  (setlist)
Nine hours travel, one audience member, a FIGHT and several beers: ROCK!



Saturday 13 December 2008
click for larger versionThe Fly, London  (setlist)
Validators Full Band Set Fantastically GOOD FUN Set with The Tiger at PopArt's Christmas Bash



Saturday 13 December 2008
The Fly, London  (setlist)
Singing 'Wonderful Christmas Time' with the Allstar Band and then doing THE BEST BIT of 'Do They Know It's Christmas' - SO very much fun my face HURT from all the smiling!



Wednesday 17 December 2008
The Windmill, London  (setlist)
Slightly cold ridden end to the year at the Let's Go Baboon Christmas do.




Click here to visit the Artists Against Success websiteAn Artists Against Success Presentation